Language: English
You can set Permissions to allow users to perform specific Operations. Without the required Permission(s), users are prevented from performing certain Operations.
This article collects all Operations that can be granted to users with the right permission.
Basic operations
View
The view operation allows users to view a resource, such as Database, a Form, a Subform, or a Report.
When applied to a Form or Subform, the operation includes the ability to view the Form or Subform’s records.
When applied to a Form, the permission to view Records can be restricted using Conditions.
Add record
The permission to add a new Record to a Form or a Subform.
Edit record
The permission to edit an existing Record to a Form or Subform.
Delete record
The permission to delete a single Record.
Bulk delete record
The permission to delete multiple Records at once through the user interface.
Export records
The permission to export Records from the user interface.
Even with the Export records permission, a user can only export Records for which they have permission to view.
User management
Manage users
The permission to invite users to the Database, to change their Role, and to revoke their access to the Database.
"Manage users" is a Role-level permission. You turn it on in the Role's permissions dialog, and then choose in the "Assignable roles" section which Roles users with this Role can assign:
- "Any role" allows users with this Role to assign every Role in the Database, including Roles that you add later.
- Each checked Role can be assigned by users with this Role, even if it includes permissions that their own Role does not have.
Users with this permission can only grant permissions to an individual user for a specific Form or Folder if they have these permissions themselves.
For more information, see Understanding the Manage users permission.
Manage roles
The permission to add, modify, and delete any role in the database.
Database management
Security contact
Users whose Role includes this permission receive the security notifications of the Database:
- The notice that ActivityInfo support staff have claimed access to the Database
- Alerts about compromised accounts of users who have access to the Database
- The periodic data risk report
If the Database has a Database owner, the Database owner also receives these notifications. If no Role includes "Security contact" and the Database has no Database owner, nobody receives them.
"Security contact" is a Role-level permission. It does not give access to any Forms or Records. Users with this permission require a full user license.
Design
Add forms, folders, and reports
The permission to add a new Database “resource”, including Forms, Folders and Reports.
Edit forms, folders, and reports
The permission to edit an existing Database “resource”, including Forms, Folders and Reports.
Delete forms, folders, and reports
The permission to delete an existing Database “resource”, including Forms, Folders and Reports.
Management
Manage translations
Includes permissions to do the following actions:
- Define the Database’s original language
- Add additional translation languages to the Database
- Run automatic translation with Google Translate
- View and update translations manually
Manage record locks
The permission to add, edit, and delete rule-based and date-based locks.
Manage collection links
The permission to open and close collection links.
Audit user actions
The permission to view the Audit Log in Database settings.
Granting this permission allows the user to view the history of deleted Records.
Note that any user with permission to view records are able to view the history of an individual record in the form view, even if they don’t have the “Audit user actions” permission.
Resolve Duplicates
The permission to run the Duplicate scanner and resolve duplicate entries in a Form.
Manage import configurations
Resource-based permission that allows users to import data from a saved import configuration.
Sharing and publishing
Publish reports
The permission to publish reports that include data from forms for which the user has been given this permission.
You cannot unpublish a report shared by a user with this permission.
When a report is saved as part of a database and published, revoking this permission from the user who published the report does not unpublish the report. This is because once the report is saved as part of a database, it is no longer owned by a specific user.