Revoking a user's access to a Database

Language: English

This article describes how to revoke a user's access to a Database, for example when the user leaves your team.

What happens when you revoke a user's access

Revoking a user's access has the following effects:

  • The user receives an email notifying them that their access has been revoked.
  • The user loses access to all the resources that belong to that Database (Folders, Forms, Subforms). The Database no longer appears on their Database List page.
  • The user no longer appears in the list of users in the User management section, and no longer counts towards your subscription's license allocation.
  • User fields in existing Records continue to show the user's name. You cannot select the user in a User field when you add or edit a Record.
  • In the Users form of the Database, the "Access" field of the user changes from "Active" to "Revoked".

The following are not affected by revoking a user's access:

  • Users may have access to several Databases. Revoking a user's access to one Database does not affect their access to other Databases.
  • The record history and the audit log are not affected. Any changes made by the user to Records are still attributed to the user. The Database audit log also retains a history of any actions they took, and all changes to their permissions.
  • Revoking a user's access to all ActivityInfo Databases does not delete their User Account. The user retains their password and User Account in case they are invited to a Database in the future.

Who can revoke a user's access

To revoke a user's access, your Role must include the "Manage users" permission, and your Role must allow you to assign the user's current Role. For more information, see Understanding the Manage users permission.

How to revoke a user's access

To revoke a user's access to a Database, follow these steps:

  1. On the Database List page, click on the Database.
  2. Click on "Database settings".
  1. Click "User management".
  2. Find and select the user in the list of users.
  3. Click "Revoke access" in the right side panel.
  4. Click "OK" to confirm.
Revoke access
Revoke access

The user's access to the Database is revoked, and the user receives an email to inform them.

Restoring a user's access

You can restore a user's access in one of the following ways:

  • Invite the user to the Database again, and assign them a Role.
  • In the Audit Log, find the event "Revoked access of", followed by the user's name, and click on "Restore access". The user gets back the Role and permissions they had before.
Next item
Deactivating a user